RTX PRO 6000: Workstation, Max-Q and Server Edition: the full comparison
- Identical silicon: 24,064 CUDA cores, 752 Tensor Cores, 188 RT Cores, 96 GB GDDR7 with ECC on a 512-bit bus
- Bandwidth: 1,792 GB/s on Workstation and Max-Q vs 1,597 GB/s on Server Edition, a 10.88% gap
- Power 600 / 300 / 400–600 W; cooling flow-through / blower / passive
- vGPU exists only on Server Edition: up to 48 virtual desktops per card, 12 AI Enterprise compute VMs
- Cards per system: 2 (Workstation), up to 4 (Max-Q), 8 in NVIDIA’s reference server and up to 10 in some OEM chassis (Server Edition)
What NVIDIA’s own table leaves out
The official family page compares the three versions in six rows: memory, DisplayPort count, power, bus, form factor, cooling. Everything that actually separates them in production is missing: no bandwidth, no CUDA counts, no MIG or vGPU. A buyer relying on the primary source simply cannot compare the SKUs: the numbers sit scattered across three product pages, three PDFs and a whitepaper that never mentions Server Edition.
The full table
| SPEC | WORKSTATION | MAX-Q | SERVER EDITION |
|---|---|---|---|
| CUDA cores | 24,064 | 24,064 | 24,064 |
| Memory | 96 GB GDDR7 ECC | 96 GB GDDR7 ECC | 96 GB GDDR7 ECC |
| Bandwidth | 1,792 GB/s | 1,792 GB/s | 1,597 GB/s |
| FP32 | 125 TFLOPS | 110 TFLOPS | 120 TFLOPS |
| RT Core | 380 TFLOPS | 333 TFLOPS | 355 TFLOPS |
| AI (FP4 sparse) | 4,000 TOPS | 3,511 TOPS | ~4 PFLOPS |
| Power | 600 W | 300 W | 400–600 W |
| Cooling | flow-through, 2 fans | rear-exhaust blower | passive |
| Dimensions (2-slot) | 137 × 305 mm | 112 × 267 mm | 112 × 267 mm |
| MIG | 4×24 / 2×48 / 1×96 GB | 4×24 / 2×48 / 1×96 GB | up to 4× 24 GB |
| vGPU | no | no | up to 48 graphics VMs; 12 compute VMs |
| Confidential Computing | not stated | not stated | yes |
1,792 vs 1,597 GB/s: what the gap changes
The bus is 512-bit on all three, so the whole difference is memory clock: desktop versions run GDDR7 at 28 Gbit/s, the server card at roughly 25, derived from the rated 1,597 GB/s on a 512-bit bus. What it means in practice: token generation reads every weight per token and tracks bandwidth almost linearly, so figure ~10% fewer tokens per second on Server Edition. Prompt processing is Tensor-Core-bound and rated identically in FP4.
What the gap does not change: whether a model fits. All three carry 96 GB, and that threshold is where the big jumps live. GamersNexus logged a 928% gain over an RTX 5090 on Llama 3.3 70B: the pure effect of 32 GB being too little and 96 GB being enough.
The cooler decides how many cards you get
Workstation breathes through the chassis (two axial fans): excellent for one card: 82 °C core, 88 °C memory, 32.5 dBA measured. With two cards the first card’s exhaust feeds the second, and the airflow arithmetic is the real limit. Two is the realistic ceiling. Max-Q is the same board with a blower and half the power limit: up to four per workstation, at the cost of ~12% FP32. Server Edition has no fan at all and relies on chassis airflow: in a certified server it holds 83–90 °C; on an open bench it throttles to the floor within minutes (one owner logged shutdown at about 104 °C). Owners fix it with a shroud and a high-static-pressure fan that sounds like a vacuum cleaner.
| PLATFORM | CARDS | CONDITION |
|---|---|---|
| Workstation chassis, Workstation Ed. | 2 | heat, size and power limited |
| Workstation chassis, Max-Q | 4 | stated by NVIDIA |
| Lenovo ThinkSystem SR650a V4 | 2 or 4 | 2 @ 600 W, 4 capped to 450 W |
| RTX PRO Server reference | 8 | 768 GB total, 12.8 TB/s aggregate |
The cable that quietly caps the card at 450 W
The most expensive trap in the line-up looks exactly like a defective card. All three versions use the 16-pin 12V-2×6 connector, whose SENSE pins tell the card how much power the supply is prepared to deliver, and the card obediently lowers its own ceiling. Real case: a Server Edition in a Supermicro chassis reports Max Power Limit: 450.00 W, and nvidia-smi -pl 600 changes nothing. The bundled cable was configured for 450 W; the full 600 W needs a different part (on Supermicro: CBL-PWEX-1364Y-30, ordered separately; put it in the BOM). Sometimes 450 W is the vendor’s deliberate choice to double card density; the measured cost is small: capping a Workstation card from 600 to 300 W lost ~6% on Llama 3.3 70B Q8.
MIG and vGPU: the hardest split
MIG (up to four isolated instances) is listed on all three, but on desktop versions it does not come enabled: driver 575.51.03 or later, a current vBIOS (at least 98.02.55.00.00 on the Workstation card, 98.02.6A.00.00 on the Max-Q) and compute display mode via DisplayModeSelector 1.72 or later are required, after which video output disappears. Launch retail units shipped with an older vBIOS, so “Unable to enable MIG Mode: Not Supported” was the predictable first experience. vGPU leaves no room for debate: Server Edition only, up to 48 VMs per card for virtual desktops (4 MIG instances × 12 time-sliced graphics vGPUs); for NVIDIA AI Enterprise compute vGPUs the limit is 3 per MIG slice, 12 per card, and on VMware VCF the MIG-plus-time-slicing combination was still listed as coming soon in April 2026. Lenovo’s Max-Q guide states the vGPU position verbatim: “vGPU software support: No support.”
| SCENARIO | VERSION |
|---|---|
| One card, maximum speed: rendering, local LLMs | Workstation |
| Several cards in a desktop chassis, quiet office | Max-Q |
| Rack, virtualisation, VDI, Confidential Computing | Server Edition |
What nobody knows
No verified A/B test of two versions on one bench exists (the question has sat unanswered on the developer forum since February 2026). NVIDIA’s product page is silent on NVLink; Lenovo’s product guide for the Server Edition settles it with “NVLink: No support”, so multi-card traffic is PCIe Gen5 on every edition.
What we supply
Eurokommerz delivers all three versions (NVIDIA RTX PRO 6000 Workstation Edition 96 GB, RTX PRO 6000 Max-Q and RTX PRO 6000 Server Edition), retail or OEM (tray), across the EU with manufacturer warranty.
FAQ
What is the difference between RTX PRO 6000 Workstation, Max-Q and Server Edition?
Does RTX PRO 6000 Max-Q support vGPU?
How many VMs can one RTX PRO 6000 run?
Why is the server card limited to 450 W when the spec says 600?
Set to 600 W, does Server Edition match Workstation?
The card shows 100% utilisation but draws only 125 W. Why?
There is no picture from the four DisplayPorts. Is the card broken?
MIG returns “Not Supported” on a brand-new card. What to check?
What do two cards give over one?
Choosing between the three? Tell us the chassis, the card count and whether virtualisation is required. An engineer will pick the version, check power and cabling, and flag where you would lose performance. We reply within one business day.
Request a quoteWe reply within one business day